Crud vs the Church

I think that maybe I don’t act nerdy enough.

At Comiket, we have a lot of people coming to our table, seeing some white guy standing there, and then they ask me, “Hey, are any of the ‘creators’ here?”

I mean, sure, I’m not as prolific as someone like Weee, and I can barely keep up the meager  subscription base I have here, but I thought that at least maybe someone would recognise me. A couple of our regulars (yes, we actually have regulars at Comiket) will say hi, but that’s a minority.

So I think that I need to re-up my nerd cred.

I was watching JonTron’s latest episode about the Christian attitude to RPGs:

 

Somehow, it reminded me of something from about 20 years ago.

Back in those days, I was really into tabletop war games, like Warhammer 40,000 and Battletech. I used to think that I was actually pretty good at it, but this was a lie. Fun fact: my first paying job was picking up dog turds so that I could buy minatures.

Anyway, I set up a gaming club which was basically just my friends. I have always had this desire to lead things… I think…

So we were trying to find a venue that would cost no money (you know, so I wouldn’t have to pick up so much dog shit) and would let us have a tournament. One of the places that would let you use their hall for free was a local church. Now, I need to admit that I’m an Atheist, and have been that way since 7, so I didn’t really know any of the rules about churches.

The pastor was kind, and was happy to take our reservation. I think he was happy to have new people coming to the church. So the room was booked and the invitations to our tournament were sent out.

Then the call came.

“Excuse me, son, but these games… they wouldn’t happen to have witches or magic in them, would they?” asked the pastor.

“Well, not really. It’s set in the future so it’s more about space an aliens.”

“Hmm,” I could hear him thinking about it on the phone. “Sorry, but I can’t let you use our hall.”

In the end we had to change the venue and found a council hall that would let us rent it. We all had to pitch in to pay for the place.

 

Now that I think about it, I realise that I am too tired to make this story interesting. I punched a guy at the tournament though. That is still an embarrassment to me to this day, especially because I won

 

Yeah. So there you go. I used to pick up shit so I could buy Warhammer figures and I pissed off a church because they were afraid of witches and spells. On the upside, I managed to write the first draft of our C91 light novel. I’m not good at writing Yuri but I figure that Weee will do some pictures that will save it.

6 thoughts on “Crud vs the Church

    1. I think it is similar to the sentiment in the JonTron video, in that it is easier to paint an entire subculture with the same brush and banish it,m than it is too try to understand it

  1. I don’t think I would know you on sight. Couldn’t recognize Weee either I think. It’s the curse of none youtube internet fame.

Leave a Reply

