I’m not sure why, but for some reason I take Aura’s advice on writing more seriously than most others.

So when he agreed to read the penultimate draft of Arctic Gale (and found it “ok”)  I was pretty pleased.

However, he did share with me the following link:

If all stories were written like Sci-fi

It’s a good reminder that, in Aura’s words, “things that are common to your characters shouldn’t be portrayed as magical.”

On one hand, it is a bit of the antithesis of the Murakami, “if the reader doesn’t understand something then describe it completely” point of view, but after reading the above passage I get what they were going for.

I’m hoping that I can find that balance.

Leave a Reply

