Okay, I’ve passed the half-way mark of the re-write of Arctic Gale. [Edit – and I’ve seen that a total of 6 people have now read the whole thing. Woot, I guess!]

I’ll admit that in some parts I feel like I should be going a little more “Aura” in the editing; that is, scrapping everything and re-writing it. It just seems a little more “pure” in that sense… but maybe I’m being too hard on myself.

However, there is one thing that I have noticed. When I did the read-through I noticed that with a few subtle changes I could make the whole “conspiracy” angle a little more detailed; really bringing out the motivations of the actors around Kate. (Side note: I have realised that there aren’t many females in AG. That is a bummer.)

When I was in High School/Uni I watched Fight Club to the point of excess. When I had nothing to do I would watch it again and again. I could probably close my eyes and re-direct the whole bloody film at this point….

I’ve always thought that I would be able to pull something like that off; being able to leave thousands of clues in the script/film that pretty much no-one would pick up on until the grand reveal.

But now, I’m not so sure. The area between “too vague” and “too blatant” is immeasurably small. And, sitting in the author’s chair, you already know what is going on, so you push yourself to be a little less vague, but then, upon re-reading, you feel like you’re waving the answer in front of people’s face…

Ah well. Such is life. I’m hoping that I’ll have this editing process done in a month or so and then a proofreading done and dusted by Christmas. There is a small chance that I’ll take some copies to the Winter Comiket in Japan for anyone that shows up…

Speaking of finishing, I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this, but there are some things that I’d like to explore.

The main one would be Oscar Cole’s and Director Wingett’s “origin story,” A prequel that fills in a lot of the motivations of Arctic Gale.

I’d also like to look a little more into the E-type training; I think I will expand upon this with Kate. I was thinking yesterday that I have this whole history of actually training to be an officer in the military and yet I have only used a small fraction of it in the story so far.

Finally, of course, I’d like to have some kind of conclusion; either with Kate and Dani or without. I’ll admit it is tempting to go to a “no-Kate” sequel. I think that it could be interesting.

Anyway, if there is anything that you’d like to know in the interim please let me know. I’ll try to keep you informed as things come up.

Leave a Reply

