First Halloween
First Halloween

This may come as a surprise to you, but in Australia there is no Halloween. The few times that kids came to our house were met with blank stares and no candy.

And you know, I’m okay with that.

But after moving here, where you have not-really-religious Buddhists and Shintoists following Christians following a probably Pagan ritual, it is hard to avoid the Halloween fever that seems to grip Japan.

This was my first attempt in 33 years to make a Jack o’ Lantern. And, to add difficulty, I had to do it in 20 minutes with the younger boy screaming at us…

Still, she likes it.

PS: I’ve done editing to about 25% of Arctic Gale. There are a few things that I am still vacillating over, but all in all I feel it is much better now…

3 thoughts on “First Halloween

  1. The lack of Halloween aside, why are you editing now? I won’t pretend to be an expert on the matter of revising, but isn’t it a good idea to take a break from the story for a few weeks?

    And if you’ve found a way to edit without waiting, then please share it.

    Finally, in regards to that new project 4LS is working on, do you have any ideas where I could find more information–or something I could subscribe to for updates?

    Thanks, and good luck with your editing.

    1. You’ve got to remember that it was a long time since I started the novel, so there has already been a long break between everything and the last section.

      I’m only about a third of the way through the actual editing as well, so by the time I get to the end it will have been a while since I wrote it.

      But I get what you mean; I found heaps of stuff in the older parts that I didn’t like, but not so much in the newer stuff.

      Of course, there is also the problem of my own time. If I have the chance to edit something then I have to seize it -I don’t get much free time…!

Leave a Reply

