Okay, so I’m not sure if you’re aware of this, but I mostly post things the second that I finish them.

It’s a bad habit, but I guess you can put it down to narcissism. I want to see people reading what I’ve written and having a good time. And, sometimes, telling me that I’m good at it.

The first 7 chapters of Arctic Gale were written 9 years ago, before I started working on Katawa Shoujo. Before I posted those chapters here, I edited them into a “better” style, and made them a little more realistic. For example, in the first City-based fight scene, Kate skidded across a floor, blinding people with broken shards of glass. This was replaced with a flash grenade.

Anyway, since that time I’ve had the basics of the story in mind. And from about Chapter 20 I’ve even had a plan written down (I might post it at some point, though I doubt you’ll be able to read my handwriting).

However, now that I’m in the thick of editing (about 20-25% through), I’m realising something. Editing is fun!.

As I was writing I realised that there were a few loose ends. This led to random decisions mid-course, like making jammers from microwaves, or half-arsed monologues.

But as I’m reading (and using a lot of ink and sticky notes), I can see threads that I just didn’t see when I was in the thick of it.

20% through and already looking like I'll run out of sticky notes
20% through and already looking like I’ll run out of sticky notes

So far I’ve had a few “Aha!” moments, where small changes either early on or later on will make the whole story make a heck of a lot more sense. Also, some of the themes that I didn’t even realise in the initial phases were there in latent fashion, so with a little polish they will all come out in the wash.

So, I’m actually enjoying this more than I thought I would, especially based on the Katawa Shoujo experience (which was a fight on every level – sometimes I think we were fighting just for fighting’s sake).

So yeah, if there is one thing I’ve learned is that it is much easier to edit when you change medium; i.e. writing on screen and then editing on paper.

It will take me a bit more time before I’ve finished reading the manuscript and then even more to actually make the changes, but at this rate I should be done with Phase 1 in about a fortnight; something that I thought would take me much longer.

Anyway, I have realised that I am sleepy simply by noting that I’ve stopped finding a change on every page (see above for the number of pages I’ve marked already…

Leave a Reply

