Dairy of a Tired Man

Okay, so the first thing I have to say is “never move overseas”.

Some extra caveats on that if you also have to set up a company and raise a new family. It’s not good for your health…

Anyway, I shouldn’t whinge too much. I’ve had a lot of help from people over the past couple of weeks so it serves as an important reminder to always look after your friends lest you need their help!

For the first time in 15 years I don’t own a car. I wouldn’t call me a petrolhead, however I do admire engineering in all shapes and sizes. Cars are just a part of live in Australia, especially once you go beyond the reach of our relatively inadequate train system.

It does, however, feel great to be freed of the incessant insurance, maintenance, petrol and registration fees…

I’ve been thinking a lot about writing recently, however I am currently in the grip of that bone-drenching fatigue that comes from having too many small and relatively achievable tasks to complete. I find it so interesting that when you get to this point you look at your to-do list and even though you know that you can easily complete half of them without any effort, your brain simply looks at the list and goes on vacation.

No amount of coffee can dig you out of that hole. You simply have to harden up and get on with it.

There is an interesting bit of research that came out recently that said that when you get stuck in that funk, the best thing to do is find a task that takes less than a minute to complete. It might be filling out an application form, cleaning up your desk or taking out the garbage. That simple act re-starts your brain to the point where you can then get back into the thick of getting stuff done.

I’m really not sure what else I should put in this post. I’m sure that once I finish the move next week that there will be a million processes that I can describe to you (unless anyone has the specific desire to hear about Japanese Corporate law and how you set up a company there…)

2 thoughts on “Dairy of a Tired Man

Leave a Reply

