Another year over. It has been a roller coaster, with dizzying highs and frighteningly depressing lows. I think that there are a lot of things about this year that I will remember, and a heck of a lot of lessons learnt.

I am hoping that those lessons will equip me for the year ahead, as 2015 looks to be no less challenging.

I want to thank you all for sticking with me. WordPress just send me the obligatory “Your Year In Blogging” post, and whilst half of the hits on this blog are still pointing squarely at A Runner’s Afternoon, that still leaves a few tens of thousands of hits elsewhere. I will admit to the occasional bouts of fear that my writing is very one-hit-wonderish, but then again, who cares? Even if people only read A Runner’s Afternoon, they are still reading something of mine, something that I created.

I like writing and photography. I’m not very good with an actual pen (those more adventurous of you may wish to visit the KS Shimmie and search for me), but with a keyboard or a camera I feel like I am actually contributing… to something… to anything.

I love consuming art of all kinds, especially in the fiction sphere, but I always feel guilty that I am only consuming and not contributing.

KS wasn’t the first time I tried to write seriously, but certainly it was the first time that I had finally stepped across that line between consuming and actually contributing. And yet, that will never be enough. There is always that little gnawing voice in the back of my head, reminding me that I wasn’t the for the last 14 months of the project. I know that it was the right decision, and I also know that I contributed a hell of a lot to the project as well, but I do always feel a little guilty to be included in the “KS Dev” group. I guess that is just how confidence works!

I would love to stand before you and state that Arctic Gale will have at least a full first draft written by this time next year, but I know that life will seriously impede my progress. Still, there are a lot of airport lounges and hotel rooms planned for 2015, so if I can avoid the temptation of streaming Family Guy or South Park then maybe, just maybe, I will be able to finish that story for the thirteen or so of the thirteen thousand people that visited here this year. I see you guys and gals as the fuel that keeps me up at odd hours, eyes bleary, considering Kate’s next move or Oscar’s next sneak attack… but I shouldn’t get into spoilers for something that doesn’t exist yet.

I am hoping that you will allow me to entertain you for another year, and I hope that 2015 will be a great year for all of you.

So please, charge your glasses and have a sip on my behalf. You have all earned it, and my thanks.

See you in 2015!

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Thanks, man! I hardly ever comment on the web (on anything) but I figured since it’s New Year’s Eve, why the hell not.

    Even though I found this blog through KS, I enjoy and appreciate your all of your work and am excited to see the final version of AG.

    Here’s to a new year and new opportunities!

  2. Thanks man! Happy New Year!

    I hardly ever comment on anything on the internet, but it’s new year’s, so what the hell.

    I started following your blog because of KS, but I love everything you write. Your blog posts are always interesting and give me something to chew on mentally.

    Here’s to the final version of AG, and a new year full of opportunities! Cheers!

  3. A year, huh?
    It’s hard to believe everything that’s gone by–this time last year, I didn’t even know that you, AG, or KS even existed. And now look where we are.

    I agree wholeheartedly with your words about contributing and consuming literature–I just wish it wasn’t in the minority, and that more people would write.

    I’m in the process of buying that book you recommended, by the way. My immediate future will involve some overseas traveling (Australia, then Japan, then India), so that book will hopefully come in handy.

    I look forward to seeing more of your work–maybe you might even be done with it this time next year?

    In any case, congrats on your work and life, Crud. It’s always a pleasure.

  4. Happy New Year Cap! I look forward to the upcoming and following years of your writing. You’re doing wonderfully. It’s a small wonder that “A Runner’s Afternoon” is a so popular. Hanako is the number 1 character. I mentioned this some time ago, but if you want to a good gauge of how the different characters match up, check out the FireFox themes for the different KS girls. Hanako is by FAR the most popular. It isn’t even close. …it’s kinda creepy and ironic at the same time. It’s so contrary to what the character wanted for the reasons those folks love her. ^^ Anyways, my best to you and your family as you travel on business this coming year.

    Cheers!

    1. Doh, the above is me. It’s been a while and forgot what my login name was here. *palmface*

      Happy new years anyways. 😀
      You too Akiraaria! How’s the studying going?

  5. Hello Crud.

    I hope I’m not bothering you, but it looks like I’ll be studying in Melbourne. As a native, do you have any tips or suggestions for what I could do there?

    1. Sorry for the delay!
      Melbourne is a good city. Big enough to hold a lot of events but small enough to avoid the epic overcrowding of some cities (although the traffic is pretty crap).

      The city prides itself on being Arty, so there are a lot of music festivals throughout the year.

      The national gallery of Victoria (next to the arts centre) usually has a good exhibition on show.

      Towards the south side of the city are a lot of the laneway cafes that you will hear about, and to the north are a lot of restaurants.

      There are a lot of sports just outside of the CBD as well.

      Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

