So, as I whittle away and extremely long transfer in Bangkok, I realise something – today it has been 2 years since I started working on Arctic Gale again.

At 24 chapters, I am currently working at 25% of the pace that I had originally hoped (of one chapter per week) but that is still better than not moving at all!

I only realised this today when I thought that I should update the feeder page for AG and noticed that it had been published on the 13th of December 2012. Of course, the idea is much older – I started writing it pre-KS, in about 2006.

And it is nice to see that it has some attention. Sure, the number of people that have made it most of the way through the story are still only in the mid-double digits, and yet that probably isn’t too bad for an unfinished first draft. I am a little scared by the amount of work that it needs, but I think that I will keep on plugging away at the script, and then maybe do one “polish” pass on it before leaving it alone again.

Flying over Thailand
Flying over Thailand

Okay, I’ll admit, this is a bit of a stretch for a post. I have 45 minutes to boarding and I have exhausted almost all of my options for entertainment. Jetlag is well and truly setting in, and the three timezones that I am currently trying to operate in are not helping.

I’m not sure if I’ve explained jetlag before. I’m sure that everyone has a different experience, but it feels like half-way between being drunk and being asleep. It is a physical sensation, like someone has put a net across the front of your brain and is trying to pull it out through the back of your neck.

The good news is that this is the last trip that I will be doing before picking up my bags and moving to Tokyo in March. I have a lot to do between now and then, and I am sure that there will likely be the need to jump on a metal sky bird and go somewhere, but for now there are no more plans.

This hopefully also means that I can swing a few more days (instead of hours) of writing time over the next few weeks.

Here’s hoping…

2 thoughts on “Forgotten Anniversary

  1. Happy Anniversary Crud!

    Do you ever write during your flights? It seems like your pace would increase plenty if you’d do that (though if that remark about jetlag is any indication, you might be better off sleeping).

Leave a Reply

