Okay, I should know better than to get excited about word counts and stuff, but I am a bit of a sucker for it.

 

The “page” count in Word is arbitrary, really, and so 100 pages at 12pt font doesn’t really mean much. Arctic Gale is now sitting at 40,000 words, so we’re now in that grey area between Novella and Novel. And whilst I know there is a lot of “story” to go, this is the conflict part and I usually end up hurrying this. When I was writing Hanako, I smashed through 10,000 in one day when I was finishing the original “Hanako Punch!” route. It was exhausting but also awesome. The original route for Hanako, post-Act 1, was about 80,000 words, so I guess that puts things in perspective.

 

I don’t think that I’ll be able to pull that off again; I have a little girl and a big job that both work to distract me from 18-hour writing sessions, but you never know.

 

It is a little sad that I have nothing to really write about here other than Arctic Gale, so please enjoy a photo from a Bird Show that I took aforementioned little girl to last weekend.

Arctic Gale Chapter 21

 

Some kind of big eagle thing. I was too busy taking photos to listen for names.
Some kind of big eagle thing. I was too busy taking photos to listen for names.
8 thoughts on “100 Pages

  1. You’ll have plenty of time for 18 hour writing sessions when you retire ;P

    On a more serious note, congratulations! Those forty to fifty thousand words are always the hardest, in my opinion, and after that the story starts to flow out of its own accord–or at least that’s how it is for me.

    Also, since AG is dystopian fiction, have you read any dystopian works?
    Like Brave New World, 1984, or even (at least in my opinion, and I’m probably biased) Time Machine? Reading some of those might give you some more inspiration or showing this from a different angle, should you want it.

  2. You’ve probably got five to ten years on me, but that’s no excuse!
    This summer, I need to get all the Pern or Dune books and run through them!
    Also, since you’re writing AG, I’m curious; have you ever taken a formal creative writing class?

  3. Yeah, but I had to go overboard and say that I’d read all of them. I already gave my word, so I have to follow through…my wallet’s going to hate me when this is over. *cries*

Leave a Reply

