Another Farewell

image

Ah, it is such a bummer to do farewells, but they are a part of life.

About a year ago I posted a photo from the Lantern Floating (Tourounagashi) in Kyoto, where we floated a lantern for my brother (go back to November 2012 for details of you’d like).

Anyway, long story short, my brother’s crash lead to my dad getting irrecoverably depressed, and even after three trips to a mental hospital, he ended up drowning after drinking too much.

So this year we floated another lantern.

I wasn’t intending on posting anything about dad, but after the Robin Williams thing, I thought that it was worthwhile to remind people the depression is actually a thing, and a fatal thing at that.

I won’t go into my own stories too much, however I will say that even though it is hard, sometimes calling the hospital and getting yourself some real help is worthwhile. I don’t know how it is elsewhere, but in Aus most of the big hospitals have a psychiatric Unit that will take you in and look after you until someone can sort your shit out.

It may save your life, or at least your friendships…

Oh, and Arctic Gale 20 is done!
Arctic Gale 20

4 thoughts on “Another Farewell

  1. It’s so easy to feel alone when it comes to things like depression. People do not realize how much help there is out there and these helplines and counselors really do help people with their problems. Even just talking about it can do a lot of good.

    I hope you’re okay crud. Take care.

  2. My condolences to you and your family. Loosing folks is never easy.
    My wife and I did “Adult Foster Care” which is like live in nursing for those that need minimal to complete supervision of the elderly. I’ve seen quite the gambit of illnesses and conditions. the most difficult thing was help and/or dealing with family their parents and whatever situation was going on. Great picture btw.

    Here in the states, health care is in a bit of a mess thanks to the BS our president just pulled. The real care you get depends on the facility you go to, really. Where my wife passed away was a great hospital, both nursing staff and docs. Never felt like I needed to be there 24/7 to ensure she was getting changed or rolled like she ought to. That isn’t always the case. People are people and they burn out or get over worked. Hospitals are businesses and they look at the bottom line. In the end, everyone winds up paying for it (emotionally) the staff and patients.

    Hang in there Crud. My best to you and your family.

  3. I am sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing however. I have been dealing with going off depression medication for the first time since I was 7 years old the last couple of weeks and the withdrawal suck. Hearing about other peoples stories helps to ground me so thanks.

Leave a Reply

