Yes, I know, I am always complaining about not having the time to write. It’s true, but it’s an old tale.

 

Anyway, I am about to go on another round of long-distance travel, so that should let me punch out a few more chapters of Arctic Gale. I had written myself into a bit of a corner, so I have bowed to Aura’s advice and done a timeline from now until the end of the story. I would place the current position as about half-way story wise. Most of the players and stages have been set, now it is just time to start moving them through the gates to the point whereby we can get through conflict to resolution.

I’ve been taking everyone’s notes on board – I plan to do a big edit session and apply all of the fixes to the main document sometime in the near future.

AG 15 can be found here. I think that some of this chapter may be moved back into the subway tunnels if required, but we will see. In the meantime, I’m going to answer your comments whilst you enjoy a Cock or Two.

Cockatoo

9 thoughts on “Two Months of Busyness

  1. From this readers point of view, a change of setting doesn’t mean backwards movement. If it fits the story to go back to the sewers, then so be it! Stay safe out on the road.

  2. Crud, what do you do now? As in a job, or are you still in college? The picture I have in my head of you is a guy in his early to mid-twenties, somewhere in college or perhaps fresh out of college. Am I fairly close?

    1. No, very far off… I finished my undergrad in 2003 and my MBA last year.
      I used to work as a sound engineer, then moved into system design and then management at a big white pointy building, and now I am the GM of the Aus office of a German technology company.

      I also have a wife and a 2.5 year old daughter

  3. Hey Crud.

    You mentioned a while ago that writing for Hanako is like putting on a pair of jeans you’ve worn before, right? Or at least I think you wrote something like that. Instead of Hisao, you could put in just Hanako.

    In the future, maybe after Arctic Gale, would you consider writing a (short) story from Hanako’s POV? Maybe it could be her looking back on her life at Yamaku? I read that Misha Path short story and I thought it’d be interesting if Hanako did some of that reflecting and retelling herself, to another person that is. You might be able to make it a kind of epilogue to Runner’s Afternoon.

    Anyway, just a suggestion. Looking forward to the next Arctic Gale, by the way.

    1. Would I consider it? Probably. It was fun in Final Finale to get inside Hanako and be slightly less restrained by her speech.

      However I don’t like rehashing the same old story. I think if you are going to put your creative effort into something it should bring something new to the creator, the audience and also the character.

      And I want to finish AG first

  4. Hmm…

    I won’t push you on the Hanako thing, but I’d like to disagree with your claim that rehashing the same old story idea doesn’t bring anything new to the creator, the audience, and also the character.

    Let’s take your Arctic Gale. You’re writing from Kate’s PoV, so it’s the actions that she sees and her thoughts on them that are reaching us, and telling us more about her and world around her. But that’s just one story. Personally, I don’t think a story is just a series of arbitrary events that happen in a certain order, but also the character'(s’) thoughts throughout these events.

    This might be hard to get without an example, so if Arctic Gale was written from Hugh’s PoV instead, would it be a different story? Probably. Even if it was him just directing and advising Kate from that computer of his, the events of the Arctic Gale would still be Arctic Gale. You’d just get another glimpse of the world of Arctic Gale through another character’s eyes–it’s the same story (the same events, or at least up until Kate is undercover with the rebels), and it’d tell you more about Hugh–or even his thoughts on Kate that couldn’t be seen through the current version of Arctic Gale.

    I’m not saying to do this, but I’m just saying that writing from another character’s viewpoint can change the story immensely, making one that’s already been written to something entirely different, because our perception is different.

    And you see the differences and you learn from them. The reader learns about the character from his or her own thoughts (taking that Arctic Gale example again, they’d learn far, far more about Hugh if the story was told from his PoV as opposed to Kate’s), and you, the writer, learn more about the character, because you’re slipping into his shoes.

    Sorry if this came off as lecturing or condescending, but as someone who’s working on a story that has a scene that’s told three times from three different characters’ points of view, I found your words kind of…frustrating, I guess? I’m not very good with explaining things.

    Did that make any sense? Sorry about this being super long, but I just had to put that out there.

    1. I partially agree, but I don’t think that writing from another perspective is automatically a good thing.

      What if you tried to write Fight Club from Marla’s POV? Disaster. That frame actually detracts from the story.

      You would normally think that the author has included enough information for the reader to get a grasp on all of the actors situations.

      If the author has the desire to write one story forever and from every point of view (like RR martin) then that is okay as well. But you have to remember that authors are people too, with their own desires.

      Everything that I have written for Hanako has got all you need to infer everyone’s feelings. I don’t see the personal value to me in exploring those stories anymore.

      In terms of writing from Hanako’s POV, I’m happy to try out again, but it might be another story..

      1. Oh…I feel stupid now. I didn’t mean it to come out like writing multiple view points is a good thing by itself, but you’re right that everybody has preferences.
        This is another question. Why are you writing AG?…unless you’re planning on having the story itself answer that question for you, which isn’t bad at all. I’m just trying to figure out the theme.

        From what I can tell thus far, I think AG’s theme is about exploring yourself, and reaching out to try new things and not rule out any possibility, no matter how much society says it’s impossible. There can be multiple interpretations with every reader, but that’s mine.

        Now the big question…will I have feels at the end of AG?

Leave a Reply

