Welcome to Berne

One of the great things about doing postgrad studies is the lack of sleep, the inability to spend time with your family, and the huge student loan the ability to learn things that you never really thought about.

In the past I used to think I knew a lot about Copyright; what it was, what it meant, and what you could do. In fact, I felt so confident that I worte a “licence” for the good contributors of 4LS to make sure that we were all covered in “any circumstances.”

Oh, how niave I was…

Actually, nothing that I did in that licence was wrong, but certainly a lot of the thinking was. In fact, now that I’ve had the most basic of introductions to copyright law, I can see that there is a lot of ignorance in the whole topic, from wirting for VNs, Creative Common licences, and Facebook.

I’m not going to go on an bore you; let’s face it – law is a pretty dry subject. But Facebook doesn’t own your photos. I don’t own all of the Copyright to Katawa Shoujo, in fact no-one does. But I still own a part of it; a little less that 5% of it to be precise.

If you are doing something creative, and I imagine that this includes a few people that read this blog, then you should probably know more about Copyright. A good place to start is the Berne Convention, which has now been (mostly) ratified in most of the important countries.

Instead of trying to explain the salient points here (as I have a crying baby to deal with) I’m going to leave this one hanging here. If you’ve got questions about the Berne convention or Copyright, please throw them out here. I will admit that I am not a lawyer, however I did find it interesting that a lot of the hysteria over Facebook seems to be unfounded. So, if you are intersted, please either read up on Copyright, or ask me a question in the comments.

PS Artic Gale Chapter 3 is up.

Image

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Berne

    1. This is the first time someone has done a wordle of my work and “just” or “…” hasn’t taken out the biggest position.
      Congrats!

Leave a Reply

