Two rights make a wrong

I’m a man of science. I always have been, and I think I always will be.

 

Sure, some could say that I have turned my application of science and logic into an art, but that is really just blurring an already blurred line. The irony of the fact that I work in the Arts is not lost on me.

 

For a long time I thought that, except in the case of severe dogma, a well-formed, logical argument could be easily understood by anyone else.

 

And then I fell in love. I got married, and I started a family.

 

All of these things usually have logical paths that you can take, and they all have enough leeway to allow you to get really creative and innovative.

However, as the sand passes through the hourglass, I am realising more and more often that against all common logic, two rights make a wrong.

To take an extreme example, consider War. Here you have two rival groups of politicians, each whole-heartedly believing that their position is the “correct” one. And they are willing to throw thousands of lives on the pyre to prove it.

 

But you don’t have to go to those extremes to see this pattern. None of us can ever really know what is in another person’s heart. Whether accidentally or deliberately, we all shield ourselves from outsiders, even those we call lovers. When everything is fine this doesn’t impede upon our daily relationships, but in times of turmoil the results can be disastrous.

 

So I guess my lessons tonight are numbered two.

1) Make sure you clearly, yet carefully speak your mind. There is a good thread about that here.

2) Finale Finale Part 6 is up. Bring tissues.

7 thoughts on “Two rights make a wrong

  1. very nice, glad to see you have maybe got over your identity crisis (as a guess, you seem pretty anchored) and would you call it fan fiction or low budget expansion, either way I got some reading tonight.

    Oh and btw two right might make a wrong, but three rights make a left.

    1. Heh.

      Something that I realised in the last couple of days is that when you are writing drama, you really have to accentuate things in order to get the point across.

      I’m actually not having an identity crisis; I’m really evolving and realising that some of my childhood assumptions are dead wrong.

      I guess I’ve just written too much drama to separate it from reality XD

  2. The example you gave was quite a good one. But, do you believe that in every case two rights make a wrong? In the form of opposing viewpoints, I can see how the works. Let’s look at war once again: You can take a look at World War II, where you’ve got Nazi Germany who believes that their beliefs are correct, while you’ve got the British who believe the same thing for themselves, Americans who believe they’re joining in because it was ‘in the best interest of the world’, and a place like the Soviet Union that is more or less just fighting with the allies simply because they disliked Germany. In a situation like that, is everyone’s belief of what’s right actually wrong in a sense?

    Let’s try a more basic example; a feuding couple, arguing over where to eat dinner on a date night. We’ve got one who wants some classy, and one who wants something casual, both claiming reasons on why they need to go to said restaurant and attempting to prove themselves right. Is either of them technically wrong here, even if they’re both right in their own opinion? Does this mean that every opinion is always wrong, even if you believe it’s right?

    In a sense, every opinion is wrong. It could be shot down by a person, or in a real example, something like a political party. You look at American politics where you’ve got the Republicans and Democrats who literally just shoot down opinions of the other party for the sake of attempting to be superior. Why can’t people just go with what they believe is right rather than what the majority believes?

    Is right and wrong truly up to the individual rather than society as a whole? We all look at things from opposing viewpoints, even in agreement, so how can anything ever technically be right or wrong? Even morals don’t really have rights and wrongs, as someone’s opinion on what is moral and what is immoral could be completely different from someone halfway across the Earth.

    Just trying to fuel a bit of discussion, even if some of this seems like rambling. Always some good food for thought from your blog posts, Crud.

    1. I think that you’re getting to the crux of it there; who actually decides what is “right” vs “wrong”.

      It’s something that I’ve been pondering for a bit now, and I’m glad to see that it has caused a bit of discussion.

    2. Your comment actually remembered me of a discussion I saw on a forum. People were saying that the “japanese style” otaku shouldn’t become “mainstream” because the society wasn’t ready for such things like lolicon. lol

      By most people’s point of view, some weird otaku ideas are just absurd. But for them is just normal.

      1. I suppose that stance could be taken on a number of things. Most people in the world would think that stoning a 13-year-old rape victim to death was abhorrent, but in Somalia it’s justice.

        I think that level of difference, where you are talking about cultures clashing, is where you move from conversations and arguments to diplomacy and war.

Leave a Reply

