Hoops

I feel obliged to give you all a progress update. Finale Finale Part 2 is now about 500 words long, but nowhere near posting as yet. Posting it now would make no sense as the tension has not yet been created. However, it is on the way. So now I’ll just bash out some words as I’m not really in a Hanako mood right now. More after the break.

I often contemplate the next “Rest” period that I will get. I usaully find that no matter how much time I try to keep free, I always end up lurching from one busy period to the next, always looking 3-4 months ahead for that next, elusive “break”. At that point, I’ll be able to “slow down” because “everything ofFire Hoops in FIji importance will be done.”

Of course, that is a lie. One closed project simply means that another one (or more) has already begun. I realised this a long time ago. When my crew asked me for a “good time to take leave,” I always reminded them that there never was a “good” time, so any time is a “good” time.

In saying that, I have decided to push a little more in. No more hoping for a day with a little less work. No more fawning over a day without plans. I realise that this will probably result in a burnout, but by then I plan to have risen again, and I’m pretty sure that my family will help me through it.

One of the things that I want to make sure I keep doing is writing this blog. Once I finish Final Finale then I will push my attentions towards something else. Maybe I will illustrate one of the many dreams that I have. If I can recreate them with even half the vividness that I dream them with then I will be a happy camper.

Lastly, if anyone out there is thinking about trying to do something to improve their career, I suggest two things whole-heartedly.

1) Learn a language, properly. Even if you never intend to travel to that country for anything more than a hoilday, learning a new language formally as an adult gives you a whole new perspective on your native tounge(s). This will help you immensely when it comes to getting your point across, and that is the first step to success in any endevour.

2) Do an MBA or equivalent. Seriously, if you want to get ahead in life, you’re not going to do it by being a hippy stoner and just hoping that your great idea will make you the next Richard Branson. At least if you have an MBA (or similar post-grad business/management degree) then you will be equipped with the tools to actually make something of yourself. I have seen far too many people think that they can “wing it” and run businesses that barely survive. It’s just not worth it.

Anyway, that was a bit of a brain dump. I hope you enjoyed the photo of the Fire Dancer person.

3 thoughts on “Hoops

    1. After 5 years of KS-related nonsense I’m used to it.

      What the internet has to realise is that most of the people like us don’t really give a shit how much you stamp your feet and demand things; it won’t make us work any faster.

      Such is the spirit of the volunteer.

  1. If after you release Final Finale you feel in Hanako’s mood any time, please, write whatever. Everyone on the internet will thank you.

    I mean, don’t feel obligated, but if some time you feel you can write something, don’t doubt it.

Leave a Reply

