That time of life

Ho all.

I know that a lot of you are hanging for more Final Finale, but I’m afraid that the little one is dictating my time more than my hobbies.

That being said I have put some more thought behind it.

One thing I would like to mention though is fan fiction. Obviously, my works fall into the same category, but hopefully the points I am going to make are just as poignant.

I’ve received a couple of comments about the fact that neither of my “future” stories (I’m hesitant to say epilogues) cover the interval immediately after the end of the story presented in KS.

This is deliberate.

Firstly, any good story needs tension and resolution.
For better or for worse, the tension in KS is all cleared up by the time the credits roll.

Thus, starting from the second after the credits roll means that you have to come up with a new tension, a new story, and yet somehow make it believable. Audiences can suspend their disbelief only so far. People just don’t have back-to-back adventures.

For A Runner’s Afternoon I chose to drive the two apart. The tension was already built into the relationship, and the resolution was the pair doing what they did.

For Final Finale I have chosen another turbulent time in Hisao’s life; nearing his university graduation. I won’t give more away.

But to those of you that feel the need to “fill in the gaps” in the timeline, I shouldn’t have to say that you should consider making your tale both interesting and realistic.

One thought on “That time of life

Leave a Reply

